SFMOMA Museum of Modern Art

May 6, 2009 at 2:55 am (Fashion)

*Roy Lichtenstein
American (New York City, New York, 1923 – 1997, New York City, New York)
Rouen Cathedral Set V
1969 Painting | oil and Magna on canvas

11

The one art work I enjoyed during this trip to the SFMOMA Museum is. Here is why I especially liked this work, when I saw this work; I really like the colors on this work. There s three painting with the same motif. The first work use color yellow and red. The second work use blue and orange. The last one was color black and red. Those colors are really attracting me to focus on this work. Also, the whole work looks very modern. Even though, the three painting has same motif, but when I look the painting individually, I have different thought with these paintings. The yellow and red on makes me feel warm, the blue and orange makes me feel relax and comfortable, the black and red one, makes me feel cold and stress. I didn’t know what the artist want to tell us, but this is how I feel and why I like this work.

These two art works I trying to describe two ways in which they are alike, and the three ways they are different.
*Georges Braque
French (Argenteuil, France, 1882 – 1963, Paris, France)
Violin and Candlestick 1910 Painting | oil on canvas

violin

The “Violin and Candlestick” is Analytic Cubism. In this painting, Brogue uses three dimensional objects on a flat canvas and without use the traditional Renaissance perspective.

*Henri Matisse
French (Le Cateau-Cambrésis, France, 1869 – 1954, Nice, France)

Paysage: Les genêts (Landscape: Broom)

lanscape

The “Landscape: Broom” was paint by Matisse and it is the Modernism in the twenty century. This is painting use a lot of bright color to show the landscape. The “Violin and Candlestick” use earth tone color to paint it. In this painting, the background uses the black outline and opening up. He transformed volumes in the still life.
Unfortunatlly, I was not allowed to take any photo inside of the Museum. >”<
131
1h

Leave a Reply

